Foundation Staff

Every day, committed experts at The SCAN Foundation employ their unique skills and ingenuity to transform the system of care for seniors so that it is affordable, accessible, and promotes dignity, choice and independence for all older adults. Get to know our team.

Executive Leadership

Bruce Chernof Photo

Bruce A. Chernof, MD

President & Chief Executive Officer
BChernof@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

 
Rene Seidel Photo

René Seidel, Dipl. Soz. Paed. (FH)

Vice President, Programs and Operations
RSeidel@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

 
Gretchen Alkema Photo

Gretchen E. Alkema, PhD, LCSW

Vice President, Policy and Communications
GAlkema@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

 

 

Program Staff

Victoria Ballesteros

Victoria R. Ballesteros, MA

Director of Communications 
VBallesteros@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

Megan Burke, MSW

Policy Analyst
MBurke@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio
Kali Peterson

Kali Peterson, MS, MPA

Program Officer
KPeterson@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

Karen Scheboth pic

Karen Scheboth, MS

Director of Grants Administration
KScheboth@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

Lisa Shugarman

Lisa R. Shugarman, PhD

Director of Policy
LShugarman@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

Sarah Steenhausen

Sarah S. Steenhausen, MS

Senior Policy Advisor
SSteenhausen@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

Eric Thai

 

Eric Thai, CPA

Director of Finance
EThai@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

Erin's bio pic

Erin Westphal, MS

Program Officer
EWestphal@TheSCANFoundation.org
Read Bio

 

 

 

 

Administrative Staff

Gina Alferez

Executive Assistant
GAlferez@TheSCANFoundation.org

 
Susan Doles

Susan Doles

Executive Assistant
SDoles@TheSCANFoundation.org