Created in 2017

Pacesetter Prize

The Pacesetter Prize was created in 2017 to honor states making significant progress in improving long-term services and supports (LTSS) for older adults, people with disabilities, and family caregivers. LTSS are a broad range of day-to-day supports needed by people with chronic health conditions and challenges with daily living activities.

The next Prize recipients will be awarded in summer 2020.

4 Award Areas

The Pacesetter Prize recognizes states that are actively building a high-quality infrastructure for aging Americans, and is designed to share states best practices with each other. Using data from the AARP LTSS State Scorecard, the Pacesetter Prize is currently awarded in the following four Scorecard dimensions:

Affordability and Access

Choice of Setting and Provider

Support for Family Caregivers

Effective Transitions

2017 Highlights

2017 Pacesetter Prize Winners

Winner: Vermont

Vermont is a proven national leader in providing accessible, affordable, quality health, and LTSS coverage for its residents. Vermont moved up from No. 19 in the 2011 Scorecard to No. 3 in 2017, exhibiting more improvement in Affordability and Access than any other state.

Learn More

Winner: Wisconsin

Wisconsin is a national leader in providing LTSS and exhibited more progress in Choice of Setting and Provider  than any other state. The state moved up from No. 8 to No. 6 in overall performance in the LTSS State Scorecard.

Learn More

Winner: Minnesota

Minnesota continues to innovate and create a more robust LTSS system, improving in three of four measures and ranking No. 6 in the country in the Support for Family Caregivers dimension.

Learn More

Winner: New York

As a proven national leader, New York’s overall rank in the LTSS State Scorecard rose from No. 41 in 2011 to No. 20 in 2017. Across all states, New York was the most improved in the dimension of Effective Transitions, rising in rank from No. 45 in 2014 to No. 32 in 2017.

Learn More

Learn more about the Pacesetter Prize winners.